Andrew standing by the photocopier
Andrew is awesome!
March 3, 2020
5. National Helplines
March 31, 2020

We’ve collated a big list of activities your children can do while stuck at home. Pick a few categories your children like, check them out at the links and enjoy!

You can find a range of other helpful COVID-19 resources here.

Reading/listening to stories 

Free Audiobooks https://stories.audible.com/start-listen 

Storyline Online https://www.storylineonline.net/ 

David Walliams is reading short stories every day – https://www.worldofdavidwalliams.com/ 

Animals

San Diego Zoo live cams – https://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/live-cams 

San Diego Zoo for kids –  https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/videos 

Penguin cams http://penguin.net.nz/viewing/webcams.html 

Animal cams – livestreaming wild animals from around the world https://www.earthcam.com/events/animalcams/ 

Atlanta Zoo panda cam – https://zooatlanta.org/panda-cam/ 

Clearwater Marine Aquarium live cams – https://www.seewinter.com/animals/webcams/mavis-rescue-hideaway-cam/ 

Duke Farms Eagle Cam – https://www.dukefarms.org/making-an-impact/eagle-cam/ 

Explore.com LiveCams – https://explore.org/livecams 

Houston Zoo Web Cams – https://www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams/ 

Kansas City Zoo animal cams – https://www.kansascityzoo.org/animal-cams/ 

Baltimore National Aquarium live cams – https://www.aqua.org/Experience/live 

Baltimore National Aquarium Virtual Tour – https://aqua.org/media/virtualtours/baltimore/index.html 

Washington National Aquarium Virtual Tour – https://aqua.org/media/virtualtours/washington/index.html 

Science 

Nanogirl COVID-19 resources https://www.nanogirllive.co.nz/coronavirus-soap-experiment 

Canadian Farm and Food virtual tours – https://www.farmfood360.ca/#fur-tile 

Liberty Science Centre – https://lsc.org/news-and-social/webcams 

NASA Hubble mission control tour – https://www.nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-360-degree-virtual-tour 

History 

Ancient Rome virtual tour with lessons – https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/rome?utm_campaign=university_of_reading_rome_march_2017&utm_medium=organic_press&utm_source=press 

Anne Frank House virtual tour – https://www.annefrank.org/en/anne-frank/secret-annex/ 

Geography 

Eiffel Tower virtual tour – https://www.metro.us/news/take-a-virtual-tour-of-eiffel-tower-with-google/tmWmgp—944DxmqzHErU 

Panoramic photographs from around the world – http://www.airpano.com/360photo_list.php 

Pictures of the Great Wall of China – http://www.airpano.com/360photo/China-Great-Wall/ 

Virtual tour of the Great Wall of China – https://www.thechinaguide.com/destination/great-wall-of-china 

Virtual field trip to the Pyramids – https://www.tripsavvy.com/virtual-field-trip-pyramids-1259200 

Marine traffic around the world – https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/home/centerx:-12.0/centery:25.0/zoom:4 

Architecture of Washington DC – https://www.thoughtco.com/diverse-architecture-of-washington-dc-4065271 

Music 

Berlin Philharmonic virtual concert hall – https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/concerts 

Weymouth Lunchtime Chamber Concerts – short videos of Duncan Honeybourne playing piano pieces along with information about the composers https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCausH3I_1NyeXOLNwQl4Cjw/featured 

Art 

National Museum of modern and contempary art, Korea – https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-museum-of-modern-and-contemporary-art-korea?hl=en 

Tate Modern UK – https://www.tate.org.uk/search?q=virtual+tour 

Van Gogh Museum – https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/van-gogh-museum?hl=en 

Museums and other places of interest 

The British Museum, London – https://www.britishmuseum.org/learn/schools 

Buckingham Palace – https://www.royal.uk/virtual-tours-buckingham-palace 

The Louvre – https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne 

Musee d’Orsee, Paris – https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/musee-dorsay-paris?hl=en 

Smithsonion National Air and Space Museum – https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/smithsonian-national-air-and-space-museum?hl=en 

London Natural History Museum – https://www.nhm.ac.uk/search.html?q=virtual+tour 

America’s National Parks virtual tours – https://www.nps.gov/search/?affiliate=nps&query=virtual+tour 

Paris Museum Collections – http://parismuseescollections.paris.fr/en 

Theatre and shows 

Kennedy Centre Digital Stage – https://www.kennedy-center.org/digitalstage/ 

Educational Websites: 

Virtual Field Trips – https://www.discoveryeducation.com/community/virtual-field-trips/ 

ABC Education – https://education.abc.net.au/home#!/home – brings you thousands of free, curriculum-linked resources for Primary and Secondary students and teachers. 

Virtual School Activities. Collection of links to other websites – https://virtualschoolactivities.com/ 

Maths 

Funbrain – Games, videos and books for kids grades 1-8 https://www.funbrain.com/ 

Prodigy – Maths learning programme, free to sign up. Grades 1-8 https://www.funbrain.com/ 

Math Playground – grades 1-6 https://www.mathplayground.com/ 

Splash learn – maths learning programme for years 1-5. Parent or teacher signup  https://www.splashlearn.com/ 

Math Game Time – Kindy – 7th grade games and worksheets http://www.mathgametime.com/ 

Khan Academy – free courses for students aged 2yrs to 18yrs https://www.khanacademy.org/ 

Social Studies 

Crash Course educational YouTube channel – https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcourse 

Also Crash Course Kids https://www.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids 

Who Was? Adventure App – https://www.commonsensemedia.org/app-reviews/who-was-adventure 

Nat Geo Kids – National Geographic website https://www.natgeokids.com/nz/ 

Google Earth the worlds most detailed globe – https://www.google.com/earth/ 

TIME for kids – weekly magazine for elementary school students (yr1-6) https://www.timeforkids.com/ 

Smithsonian for kids – https://www.si.edu/kids 

Science 

Discovery #Mindblown – app, videos and some games (but a lot is not free) – https://www.discoverymindblown.com/ 

NASA kids club – https://www.nasa.gov/kidsclub/index.html 

Amazing Space – Space telescope education program – https://amazing-space.stsci.edu/ 

Code Academy – Learn to code for free https://www.codecademy.com/ 

How Stuff Works – Learn how everything works! https://www.howstuffworks.com/ 

Track a Tawaki Penguin with The Tawaki Project – http://www.tawaki-project.org/homepage/ 

Other 

Brain Pop Animated Educational Site for Kids – Science, Social Studies, English, Math, Arts & Music, Health, and Technology. Currently offering free access to schools, teachers and parents affected by school closures – https://www.brainpop.com/ 

Ted Talks – ideas worth spreading – https://www.ted.com/talks 

PBS Kids – Educational games and videos from Curious George, Wild Kratts and other PBS KIDS shows! – https://pbskids.org/ 

Duolingo – Learn a language for free https://www.duolingo.com/ 

HelloKids – colouring pages, videos and leisure activities – http://www.hellokids.com/ 

Comments are closed.

WP Feedback

Dive straight into the feedback!
Login below and you can start commenting using your own user instantly